Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Liebster Blog Award

13 Comments

Wow!  So it kinda (read, totally) made my day when Christina of Floridays Mom left me a comment letting me know she nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award!  I checked out her blog (which I normally do anyhow) to find out more about it.

In a nutshell, the Liebster Blog Award is an opportunity for bloggers to give a virtual high five to  other aspiring bloggers with a chain letter kind of twist.   “Liebster” is an old school way for saying “favorite” in German.

Here are the rules of the game:
1. List 11 facts about yourself.
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
3. Create 11 new questions for the bloggers you nominate for the award.
4. Choose 5 bloggers  with 200 or less followers (I have no idea how to determine something like this…) to nominate.
5. Let each of the bloggers know that you’ve nominated them.
6. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.

So, vielen Dank, Christina (I couldn’t be nominated for a German named award without throwing in some German in there—I’m halfsies after all)!  Vielen Dank = Many thanks.  If you haven’t already, stop by Floridays Mom and visit Christina where she blogs about decorating her home and being a mom to a toddler boy (which I can definitely related to!) while living in the sunshine state.

I’m skipping the 11 facts (I’m not that interesting) and jumping ahead to the 11 questions.  Here they are:

1. What’s the number one on your Christmas List
Hrm, my birthday just recently passed so I crossed off most of the things on my wish list.  I’m really smitten with those multi-room speakers right now.  But I think that will require some long-term savings.

2. Why did you start your blog
Well, The Hubs (below with his “angry face,” haha, he would so make me take that down if he were here!) went off for boot camp so I wanted to give myself a little project to help keep busy.  And I thought I could use a little kick in the pants to motivate me to decorate my home.  Nothing says motivation like publishing your progress on the blogosphere!  Plus, I love reading home design blogs, why not start one?  For the full deets, check out my About Me page.3. How did you come up with your blog name
The cornerstone of my blog is overcoming fear so I wanted to incorporate that into the title somehow.  Friends also kindly helped vet the names.  Most importantly, the domain Brave New Home was available for purchase!  Below: another logo/tagline I played with before settling on the one I did.

4. What is your secret indulgence
It’s really no secret!  I let myself indulge in the little goodies that can be found at Trader Joe’s.  Cookie butter?  Two totally unhealthy things combined in a jar that I can’t find a better use for other than to eat with a spoon?  Yes, please.

(source)

5. Which of the four seasons do you look forward to the most
Fall!  It’s the start of the birthday season at our house, the weather cools down a bit, squash hits the supermarket, and the kids come back to campus (I work at a university).  I could go on and on and on…

6. What’s your biggest pet peeve
Not exactly a pet peeve but I get really anxious driving in parking lots.

7. What is your favorite decor
Lived-in, collected, and slightly global.

(source)

8. What did you want to be when you grew up
An archaeologist.  I loved digging in the dirt : ]

9. Who makes you laugh the most and why
Right now, Anak (below, taking a self portrait.  Guess he didn’t get the memo about taking self shots from above to make your face look slimmer, fatty).  He’s a little silly.  Lately, when I pause during a song to let him fill in the words, he pretends to burp.  Yup, he’s all boy alright.
10. Name one thing on your bucket list
Hiking the glaciers of Patagonia.  And most imminently, trying real white truffles.

(source)

11. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be
Japan!  I’m moving there, too.  I just don’t know when or how yet…

(source)

And my nominees are… drum roll please…

Forever and A Recipe
Little House. Big Heart
If No One Else Listens to Me, At Least I Will
Angie’s Roost & Colby’s Hen House
Apartment to Apartment

As for my 11 questions:
1. Ikat or Suzani?
2. How did you decide on your blogs name?
3. What’s your all time favorite blog?
4. If you could be featured in one home design magazine (print or online), which one would it be?
5. What’s your tool of choice?
6. Christmas tree.  Real or fake?
7. Your least favorite color.
8. Your design god or goddess.
9. If my home scent was made into a candle, it would be…
10. Entering your house.  Shoes on or off?
11. What type of camera do you use to take photos for your blog?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

13 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Pingback: Patio Dreaming | Brave New Home

  2. Thanks for nominating me, Jennifer! And as a result, I’ve now found your blog and will be subscribing as well. :D

  3. Hi Jennifer! Just wanted to say a quick hello. I hopped over from Kelly’s blog and love your site!

  4. You’re too sweet! Thanks for the nomination!!

  5. Loved reading all your answers…and um Cookie Butter sounds amazing! I’ll have to find a way to get my hands on some immediately! And your comment about your son burping during the songs made me crack up. Colin does that ALL THE TIME.. he forces it out over and over and over. little boys I guess. :) Can’t wait to check out your nominations and see who else I should be following. Take care! Christina

  6. Well somehow I missed it on Christina’s…because I just nominated you yesterday on MY blog too! Oh my! a double dose of fame! http://www.talkofthehouse.com/a-williams-sonoma-cupcake-mix-winner/
    You are quite deserving (and do not have to do all the questions all over again! :))

  7. Eeeeeeee! Thank you than you thank you thank you for the nomination! You rock! And I have officially subscribed to your blog! How I have I not run into you yet?! Your site is great! I’m totally working on my post right…wait for it…now. By the way, I don’t think the link to my blog works. It’s strange. It goes to the “At Least I Will” blog. Did I mention you’re the best?!

    • You’re very welcome, Angie! To be honest, I was a bit nervous about nominating someone I’ve never “met” so I’m thrilled your happy to be nominated.

      Oops! Sorry about the link. I think it should be working now : ]

      Thanks for stopping by—I’m just a small fry so I haven’t run into a lot of people yet! Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

