Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Give Me Liberty!

7 Comments

As I previously mentioned, I recently took a trip to Chicago for The Hubs’s graduation from boot camp.  Only I didn’t stay in Chicago, I stayed in Libertyville, IL.  It was my first time in the Midwest and I have to say, there were moments where I felt like I was on the set of Gilmore Girls (in a good way!).  And yes, I know Gilmore Girls takes place on the East Coast.navy_boot_camp_graduationOne of my favorite things to do when traveling is to get a feel for local life.  I love looking at houses and always pick up one of those “houses for sale” pamphlets to get a feel for housing prices.   The Hubs and I will usually map some of the houses on zillow.com to find out their market price, too.  Then we kick ourselves a bit and mumble things like, We could actually afford a house if me lived here…libertyville_water_towerThe Hubs’s “liberty” (Navy speak for free time) was pretty limited so we only had the chance for me to drag him to walk around a block or two.  The brick was all total foreign to me but I liked it.  We have too many earthquakes in California so most of our houses are made of wood.libertyville_home_5I love these nice, big extended porches.  Makes me think of warm summer nights with bugs chirping in the background.libertyville_home_4Love me a red door.  Who doesn’t?libertyville_home_3Picturesque!  Totally quaint and unpretentious.libertyville_home_2Adorable attached homes.  All these trees make me want to come back when spring is in full swing.libertyville_home_7 Another cheerful home. libertyville_home_1Thought this was a sweet little side entrance with an almost nautical feel.libertyville_home_6I managed to get one more photo in before the sun completely set.

Both the Hubs and I felt this was somewhere we could see ourselves living and raising a family.  Although we say that about almost every place we visit so maybe we’re just adaptable. 

Do you enjoy touring neighborhoods when you travel? 

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

7 thoughts on “Give Me Liberty!

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cheer in the Blogoshphere: What to Wear to a Work Holiday Party « Brave New Home

  2. Welcome to the Navy family! My husband graduated from Great Lakes back in December 2010 so I know how chilly Chicago can be that time of year, but very pretty! Seeing all the sailors graduating is an awesome experience though.

  3. Jennifer, no remarks about the food in Libertyville? OK, it might be hackneyed of me to keep asking about the same thing, but. And I’ll end it with but.
    Since much of my travel is to big cities, I end up wandering for hours, visiting neighborhoods that locals might have no idea existed…or ones that locals may deny the existence of. It’s a great way to engage strangers in spontaneous conversations, explore different styles of architecture that are otherwise excommunicated by zoning boards (Tokyo and Osaka are great for this) and to check out traditional/unsavory sources of…eats that may otherwise only be displayed in swish supermarkets or restaurants, in other words parts of town obsequiously catering to the average traveler.

    • Alas, I was in headed into week two of a sinus infection and my sense of appetite was all but squelched. In my four days, I litterly had two meals, a Jamba Juice, several cups of coffee, a pretzel, and handfuls of Garrett’s Chicago mix popcorn. I know, I even disappointed myself.

  4. I do the very same thing – in my own neighborhood. We definitely purchased the least expensive house in a nicer neighborhood. You know what they say: location, location, location. My favorite thing you pointed out was that you are looking for ‘quaint and unpretentious’. Exactly my style!

Leave a Reply

