Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

A Game Plan For the Living Room

8 Comments

living_room_mood_board

I’ve been saving decorating the living room for last.  This doesn’t imply that I’ve finished the rest of the house, oh no, far from.  It just means that the living room is virtually untouched.  And it’s the one where I kinda feel the most pressure to get it right.  Not only is it the most visible room, it’s also the room that needs to be able to stand up to the most use.

I took a more methodical approach to designing the living room.  I went through my Living Room Pinterest board and wrote down all the things I liked about individual rooms.  Then I looked for patterns.

Here are the main elements that consistently popped up:

  • Bursts of yellow
  • Pillows – black/white and geometric designs
  • Plants – especially fiddle leaf trees
  • Worn leather sofas/chairs
  • Teal/cobalt blue color
  • Graphic patterned chairs

And to a lesser degree, these elements were also trending:

  • Patterns – trellis, suzani, and ikat
  • Woven wood elements
  • Neutrals
  • Garden stool
  • Personal photos

I haven’t made a mood board before (I find them constricting and often not all that practical/helpful) but in the spirit of trying a new creative process, I gave it a go.  To my surprise, I actually liked the result of putting all my favorite elements together!

Have you ever created a mood board?  Do you use them as a starting point or do you stick to the plan?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

8 thoughts on “A Game Plan For the Living Room

  1. Hi! Thanks for linking up to the Mood Board Link Party! Your living room design is awesome! :) Please stop back next week!

  2. Pingback: Things that Make You Go Hmmmm « Brave New Home

  3. Pingback: Swapping Out the “Coffee” Table(s) « Brave New Home

  4. Pingback: Giveaway: Free Custom Mood Board « Brave New Home

  5. Pingback: Living Room Makeover: Phase 1 « Brave New Home

  6. Pingback: How To: Drop Cloth Curtains « Brave New Home

  7. Ooooh…me likey! Especially those rugs! Drool!

Leave a Reply

