Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

How To: Drop Cloth Curtains

6 Comments

drop_cloth_curtain_tutorial_texty

When I came across the idea to make curtains from drop cloths, I pinned it to my DIY Art and Projects board.   And I’m oh-so-glad I did!

Why drop cloths?  Well, they’re pretty cheap for the amount of fabric you get.  And whenever I go into a fabric store, I get overwhelmed and start second guessing my choices so ultimately I end up leaving discouraged and empty handed.  So drop clothes were my timid way of buying a large quantity of fabric.

This is the sort of look I was going for (although these aren’t made of drop cloths) as I included in my living room mood board:

(source)

I did some research to find some easy instructions and Chris loves Julia delivered!  I went over to Home Depot to pick up some drop cloths only they looked much darker and dingier than the ones in Julia’s photos:I went home, turned on the computer and re-read her post (I have one of them stupid phones). I had in fact found the exact same drop cloths she used.  So I high tailed it back to Home Depot! drop_cloth_curtain_drop_clothI picked up two 6×9 “panels” for $11 a pop. I had intentions of hemming the bottoms but with the placement of the curtains behind furniture bunching really isn’t visible.  And I can tell myself I’m giving them extra length in case we ever move and need longer curtains.  See, not lazy at all!  That’s just foresight.  drop_cloth_curtain_materials I also bought a sponge brush, and some masking tape.  I already had some paint mixed for another project that I didn’t end up using so I didn’t have to spend for paint.  drop_cloth_curtain_tapingI washed the drop cloths to take away some of the roughness then ironed them smooth. I cleared the living room floor, spread out newspapers, and got to marking my lines.  I went for thicker stripes for a less busy look (and cause it makes me less busy since it’s less work that way!). drop_cloth_curtain_progress I was surprised that I just barely had enough paint (I don’t know what size my paint can was…it’s the next step down from a gallon).  The fabric was thirsty!  And those newspapers, good idea!  Some spots definitely had paint bleed all the way through.  I let each curtain dry overnight.  The panels were heavy and stiff at the painted parts.

curtain_clips(source)

I picked up some curtain rod clip rings from Ikea.  I bought two packets of 10 for $4 each.  I love having the clip option.  It makes it easy to make no-sew curtains.  I’m thinking of all the possibilities for future “curtains.”

Cost Breakdown:

Drop Clothes – $11 x 2 = $22
Masking Tape  – $4
Sponge Brush – $.50
Paint – already owned
Curtain Rod Clip Rings – $3.99 x 2 = $8

Total: $34.50

So where’s the finished product photo?  It’s coming!  I’ll be posting phase 1 of our living room transformation in the coming days and will be sure to take a few close ups of the curtains.  Sorry to be a tease!  I insist on some good lighting though and as you can see, I work at night.  Update: Check out the hung curtains in phase one of our living room makeover.

Linked up to Not Just a Housewife, DIY Showoff, Embracing Change, Delightful Order, and Happy Go Lucky.

What creative materials have you used to make curtains?  Do you ever pin totally great ideas that you totally forget about?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

6 thoughts on “How To: Drop Cloth Curtains

  1. Can’t wait to see! Thanks for linking up!
    Stacey of Embracing Change

  2. Pingback: Living Room Makeover: Phase 1 « Brave New Home

  3. Those are gonna look great. And how funny, I’m working on drop cloth curtains too (but for doorless closets)! I got the idea from Chris Loves Julia also, such a great and inexpensive curtain option!

  4. Oohhh how exciting! I can’t wait to see the final product. Do we get a hint on what color paint you used? Aren’t no sew curtains the best!

    • I went bold and went for a beige : ] I let the drop cloth act as one of the stripe colors. I’ve bought (and returned) many a curtain but I’m really happy with these. They brighten up the space quite nicely. And yes! No-sew anything is the best.

Leave a Reply

