Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Getting my Chiang Mai Dragon Fix

10 Comments

(source)

I am simply enamored by F. Schumacher’s Chiang Mai Dragon print.  I think this print was trending about two years ago (meaning the trend is probably over) but I don’t care.

Determined to tame the dragon without paying it’s hefty price tag (a yard of fabric costs around $150 while a pair of throw pillows can easily run over $200), I took to the web to find more cost effective alternatives.  Knock-off fabric alternatives?  None that I saw.  Ebay?  Etsy? Still ridiculously out of my price range.  The cheapest way I found to get my little hit of dragon was a pillow cover I found on Etsy for $65 only it didn’t even contain the dragon, just the surrounding flower pattern.  I took to the back alleys and made my way through the blogosphere looking for a tip.  Any ideas I came upon were outdated and apparently prices have gone up significantly within the last few years.  I was stumped.

Then browsing an online fabric store and wracking my brain on how to make the dragon mine (all mine!) I noticed the option to order a sample swatch.  $5 and no S&H.  Specifically,

“Our swatch is a memo sample ranging from 4 ” x 6″ to 12″ x 18″ in size.  The sizes are cut randomly.  We are unable to order specific sizes.”

It was a bit of a gamble but I wagered that if I got a swatch on the larger end maybe I could make a lumbar pillow out of it.  And if it was a bit smaller, maybe I could frame it, mod podge it to something or other or sleep with it under my pillow in hopes that it will multiply.schumacher sample packageAfter days of anxiously checking my mail box, it came!  schumacher vine sample 2Only it was completely the wrong order.  Womp womp.schumacher vine sampleBut oh, the size of this sample was fantastic!  I’m thinking about 2ft x 2ft.  And isn’t it beautiful still yet?!schumacher vine sample eyeletsIt did have these two little grommets and some Velcro stitched on here and there but not bad at all.

I contacted customer service and the correct sample is on its way (and they said I could keep the one I have!).  So for now, back to anxiously checking my mailbox.  So yeah, a whole post essentially having nothing to do with the fabric I affectionately call the dragon.  But I still got something from Schumacher!  In my world, that’s like receiving something in a robin’s egg blue Tiffany box (which is not to say that I don’t enjoy that, too ; ]).

Do you have any secret dragon dealing sources to clue us in on?  What would you do with a small size of fabric sample?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

10 thoughts on “Getting my Chiang Mai Dragon Fix

  1. Hi Jennifer! I did the exact same thing a year or two ago. Tempted to gamble on the sample but in the end splurged on the fabric – mostly because I sell pillows too. If the Schumacher sample doesn’t work out feel free to message me – perhaps I can hook you up. Which colorway are you looking for? I have some things lying around this place :)

  2. Bummer that they sent the wrong fabric but it’s still very pretty. I have no hot lead on the dragon, but if I come across anything, I’ll let you know. Pillows a-la-mode http://pillowsalamode.wordpress.com/ might have some good ideas on what to do with a 24X24 piece of fabric.

  3. You think very much the same as me. I’d would have done the same. Great idea! I love the pillow, too.

  4. what about modge podging the outside of a simple jewerly box? then you can move your dragon around your house pretty easily!

Leave a Reply

