Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Fling: Dough Bowls

10 Comments

fling  (flng) noun: a short period of unrestrained pursuit of one’s wishes or desires.

I think I may be late jumping on the dough bowl train (I cannot say that phrase out loud for the life of me, it’s a tongue twister I always lose)  but relics rarely go out of style for too long so here I am!

How late am I to this trend?  Well, let’s just say Pottery Barn has been all about the dough bowl for quite some time.  They offer a fairly concise overview of just what dough bowls are, too:

“In the first half of the 20th century, Magyar bakers at farmhouses in Hungary and other Eastern European countries used these hand-carved, antique wooden bowls to make bread each morning.”

What I love most about dough bowls is how unique each one is.  How, even if a replicate, it tells a story.

They can be used to house collections:

(source)

(source)

(source)

Or function to store household items:

(source)

Dough bowls can be used to create centerpieces:

(source)

Or to create lovely vignettes:

(source)

They can be used as planters:

(source)

Or simply be displayed:

(source)

Have you come across dough bowls in your decorating endeavors?  Do you think they can easily be incorporated into a non-farmhouse esthetic?

 

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

10 thoughts on “Fling: Dough Bowls

  1. I’m loving them! I’m glad to see you share in my desire. ;)

  2. Thanks for educating me on the rise and fall and rise of the dough bowl (unintended pun, but I’ll take it!). I’ve seen the wooden bowl centerpieces but never knew their name or origin – – so I appreciated the history lesson. We actually inherited an antique wooden mancala board that looks somewhat like a dough bowl. It’s just sitting in the basement right now, neglected, so I wonder if we can repurpose it as a centerpiece of some kind…. Now you’ve got me thinking!

    Hope you find a bowl or two in your thrifting endeavors. I’m sure you’ll give them a happy home!

  3. I saw a ton of these at the flea market the last time we were there. They were super pricey! I was so surprised! xo Kristin

  4. I’ve been feeling the dough love for quite some time. I also have a huge obsession with tobacco baskets (another item that Pottery barn didn’t sell, but featured as part of their wall decor years ago). They are the two items that I just pray I can get my hands on some day at a garage/estate sale without paying insane prices for. I love everything about them, and all their imperfections brought on by their stories. ps. if I ever own a dough bowl, I don’t think I’ll let Colin use it to store his crayons as Emily Clark did (no pun Emily..I love your design) :)

  5. The dough bowls do have an allure to them. For me, it is the thought that someone else’s hands graced the dough bowls day after day. The echo of the past is alluring to me.

Leave a Reply

