Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

If It’s Worth Doing…

2 Comments

quoteI stumbled upon this quote and it really struck a chord with me (this will be one of the rare instances where anything sports-related actually does.  Side note: Wooden was a legendary basketball coach).  I don’t mind (okay, sometimes I mind) doing something over to get it right, as evidenced by my latest painting endeavors, but I do fully believe in life that anything worth doing is worth doing right.  And that extends to home design… to an extent.

I think it’s worth saving your pennies to purchase the highest quality product you can afford.  And I think it’s prudent to live in a space before diving into making major purchases; it’s helpful to assess how you live first.  But at some point you just gotta give it a whirl and accept the possibility that tweaks and do-overs may lie in your future.  It takes courage to push forward when you don’t know what “right” quite is. 

I took this photo driving back to our cabin after a day of hiking in Sequoia National Park.  I literally asked the driver to, Pull over now!, and somewhat taken aback (partially because we were on the cliff of a mountain), he obliged.  These were some of my favorite photos the entire trip : ]

Thoughts?  Stumble on any recent pearls of wisdom that challenge the way you think about your home?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

2 thoughts on “If It’s Worth Doing…

  1. Great quote. My husband and I were reconfiguring our master closet this weekend. (Trust me, it sounds more glamorous and accomplished than it was.) When it came to deciding if we cut a pipe/rod and move a hanging rack two inches higher to make the closet more functional, we stopped to think. We, too, have adopted the “if we are going to take the time to do this, let’s do it right’ attitude as well. Although my closet isn’t a beauty, she is more functional now that we really put the effort in. (post to come)

    Great advice for all aspects of life!

    • It really is, isn’t it? The more experience I have with home design the more I have come to realize, duh, it’s in the details! Easier said than done. We had a sagging rod in our closet when we moved in. Totally functional but we ended up swapping it out for a new (and straight!) one. I like your closet post title—clever!

Leave a Reply

