Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

DIY Heart Garland

7 Comments

DIY heart garland tutorialI’m a huge fan of bunting and garland.  It’s super festive and usually super easy to make!heart garland materialsI bought a sheet of scrap book paper to the tune of 30 cents and the rest of the materials I already had on hand: scissors, yarn, a ruler (not featured: glue gun and pencil.  One of these days I’ll actually photograph all the materials I use, promise!)heart garland keep calm and eat a cupcakeThis paper warranted a close-up.  The message?  Keep calm and have a cupcake.  Works for me!heart garland stripsI cut out one inch strips and folded them in half.  I picked out a two sided paper since I knew both sides would be visible for this little project.heart garland making rollsThen use a pencil to curl the ends simply by rolling the paper around the pencil.  They will be tight so you’ll just hafta to unravel them a bit.heart garland closeupThe hot glue the two curls to one another to form the heart shape.  And then hot glue the individual hearts to the yarn.heart garland in homeAnd hang.  I love hanging decorations from our kitchen cabinets because they’re visible from any place on the downstairs level, even the entry way.  That’s maximum decoration for the effort!

That’s about the extent of my Valentine’s Day decoration (I also have a balloon for Anak).  I had some of those window jellies but they mysteriously got stuck on the wall and left a stain, bleh.

Linked to Bower Power Blog.

Did you make any new decorations for Valentine’s Day this year?  How do you feel about decorating for this holiday?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

7 thoughts on “DIY Heart Garland

  1. LOVE the scrolls! You should enter your photos from this project into Craftbaby’s Hearts Craft Challenge :-) http://www.craftbaby.com/contests/43/those-tiny-toes-hearts-craft

    xo,
    Candie

  2. I love simple and banners are my new favorite thing. Might have to try this one for next year! Thanks for sharing, Jennifer, and have a happy V Day!

  3. Simple and sweet! I don’t decorate for the holidays (Christmas, aside), but this something I could easily do and store. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I love decorating for holidays, even Valentine’s Day, but this year it’s really sneaked up on me. Today’s the big day and I’ve got nothing! Well, I take that back. I have cards for mah man, my kids and my best friend, although I forgot to mail her card and now it’s going to be late. Also, the only present I bought was a pair of cute heart socks for my daughter. “Here baby, Mama loves you so much and what better way to say it than with socks”, ha ha. Oh well, I had good intentions ;-)

Leave a Reply

