Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Fling: So Fresh and So Clean, Clean

13 Comments

fling  (flng) noun: a short period of unrestrained pursuit of one’s wishes or desires.

I know emerald is Pantone’s color of the year but surprisingly, and I say surprisingly because I love jewel tones, I am not a fan.  Even more surprisingly, I’m a big fan of greens in general.  The green I’m currently crushing on is mint.shades of mintI believe mint was on the scene in the ’50s so there’s definitely an element of nostalgia to this color.  I love how delicate and feminine it is.  I think my favorite pairings though include some bolder colors and more modern fabrics and shapes to help balance this nod from yesteryear.

 

(source)

(source)


(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

(source)

My favorite mint pairings are mint with ochre, mint with gold (classic), and mint with crimson.  To see all my minty pinspiration, hop on over to my Mint board.

Have you decorated with mint in your home?  Would you consider it?  What are you favorite mint color combinations?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

13 thoughts on “Fling: So Fresh and So Clean, Clean

  1. Pingback: A Dose of Thrifty Inspiration | Brave New Home

  2. Pingback: Used Inspiration | Brave New Home

  3. Mint and gold are a stellar combo. I’m a huge fan! And I love mint in clothing, too…makes me think of sherbet or pistachio ice cream (yes, I have a sweet tooth).

    And thanks for the link to your Pinterest page. I couldn’t believe I wasn’t already following you! The situation has been remedied.

  4. Pingback: Friday Finds | tiinaDECOR

  5. I like mint, too, although it doesn’t really “go” in my house in its current state. CB2 has some new gorgeous mint pieces that I love, though. Just yum.

    • Yeah, I sorta feel that way, too (although I think it could work with all those burnt oranges you have somehow). I’m working towards creating a backdrop where any colors could “go.” At least, that’s the goal! I know, CB2 has some gorgeous minty pieces :]

  6. Love mint! Especially paired with the warm golden tones. I am obsessing over the mint sofa you showed and that chevron artwork – so fresh and modern!

  7. You and I could totally be BFFs…I’m LOVING mint too! In fact, we painted our kitchen mint a couple years ago (it’s kind of like that swatch in the middle of your paint chip photo) and I still LOVE IT! AND I’m thinking of accenting our bright yellow bath with a little mint! Are you painting something mint? I’m totally intrigued!

    • I know, I noticed! I love that green you painted in the dining room, too. It’s so much warmer than the blue, surprisingly so. As of now, I’m not planning on painting anything mint but I think some mint colored lamps would look great in the bedroom. We’ll see!

  8. You summed up the way I feel. I love greens, even dark greens, but I am not feeling ’emerald’, at least the way it has been presented by Pantone. That said, I, too, have an affinity for ‘mint’. My husband and I were actually drooling over a ‘mint’ colored, vintage guitar last night. Mint is beautiful with crimson. I’d love to see how you incorporate this in your home.

Leave a Reply

