Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Displaying Children’s Art

15 Comments

I’ve long been mulling over ideas to display Anak’s artwork.

(source)

I love the idea of a gallery wall but the thought of swapping art in and out drives me batty.  I’ve seen the front open frames and frames with slots at the top but I wanted something even simpler.  Like cork board and push pin simple.materials for covered corkboard child art displaySo I picked up a cork board for $7 and push pins for $3 (seriously, why did I not dollar store these?!  Target, you get me in the zone…) and used some leftover fabric I had from my bar stool makeoverstriped covered corkboard child art displayI just cut the fabric to the size of the frame and stapled it to the cork board.  The cork board is in great shape (since it’s new) so I opted for something with no commitment.  Sometimes it feels easier DIYing something already a bit beat up, doesn’t it?  Anyways, the wooden frame matches our cabinets perfectly so I left it as-is to integrate into the kitchen.key holder sunglasses phone shelfHere’s a close up of our sunglasses shelf (which has been referred to as a sunglasses graveyard—we have a lot of sunglasses!) and key holder.  My thought here was to bring as much stuff off of the kitchen counter as that’s where our clutter tends to accumulate.exploration in redOh, and as for Anak’s current orange piece on display, it’s actually part of a series I entitled Monochromatic Musings: An Exploration in Color.  Here’s the inaugural piece he created almost exactly a year ago.  Makes more sense now, right?  ; ]

How do you display your kids’ artwork?  And in what part of the house is the art displayed?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

15 thoughts on “Displaying Children’s Art

  1. Pingback: Fling: Corky Details | Brave New Home

  2. This is a great idea. Looks awesome!
    I actually just hung the Ikea DIGNITET steel wire and clips in my daughters room so she can change it out herself. Yours makes a bigger statement which I love ;)

    • Thanks, Julia! I just checked out your blog–it’s great! You should check out my latest post about nightstands. I have a print of Wurzburg—it’s my mom’s hometown and I grew up spending summers there. Such a neat little town, richtig?

  3. It looks fantastic….love that you display his work so proudly…xo

  4. Looks like Anak is following in his mother’s footsteps as quite the artist! I love how practical this turned out… While we don’t have kids yet, we’ve displayed our nieces and nephews artwork on the fridge, but I much prefer your method. And when you cover the corkboard in fabric, it gives it such a professional touch. Well done, girl!

  5. I love it! I am sooooo lacking on this front. My son, in particular, is a pretty darn good artist, but I just haven’t gotten myself in gear to display any of them. :( One day….

  6. I love the idea of displaying artwork. I only have a tiny piece on my gallery wall in my living room, its hardly noticeable but its the middle of the gallery so I just love it. I’m planning on tackling Colin’s playroom in the coming months and intend to hang a closeline with some of the pieces he’s been bringing home from school.
    I can’t wait to see more of Anak’s Monochromanitc Musings. So cute!

  7. I don’t have any kiddo’s yet, but when I do, you can be sure that I’m going to steal the idea of the black and white striped fabric on cork board. Adorable!

  8. I love this Jen! We frame our kids art work all over our house too. It’s my “favourite” art out there.

  9. That’s a great idea and it looks nice, too. “Monochromatic Musings: An Exploration in Color” – I totally get it ;-) I really do like the orange. Anak has a good eye for color, just like his mama!

Leave a Reply

