Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Nightstand Styling

8 Comments

When I read stylist Emily Henderson was hosting a nightstand styling contest, I thought, Pffftt!  A styled surface within toddler reach?  Fahgettaboudit!  But then I realized I just needed to get a photo of a styled nightstand; it didn’t have to reflect what we actually live with day-to-day…cause that would be this:day to day nightsandThat’s clearly The Hubs’s side cause I don’t do digital alarm clocks.  But it was free and I definitely do free :P  In any case, going with my blog’s them of being brave, I accepted the challenge and tried to think of it as an exercise in styling.

I gathered up a bunch of my favorite items and started grouping them together and snapping away.  T minus one hour to nap time!   nighstand grey starburst mirror purple flowers yellow ikat booksAt first I was going for a yellow-grey-purple scheme for something that felt a bit springy.nighstand with glasses fresh flowers japanese plateThen I tried introducing other colors.purple flowers yellow ikat painting glass paperweight  And creating more breathing space.nightstand styling books purple flowers yellow ikat paintingI made little tweaks swapping things in and out. nightstand styling purple flower asian bowl booksAnd tried showcasing some neat ceramics I’ve collected.nightstand fresh purple flowers ring holderI like how fresh this feels.grey starburst mirror orchid nightstand stylingUltimately, I ended up gravitating towards things already in my bedroom.  Here was the vignette I felt was the most successful.  If you feel so inclined to vote, hop over to Emily Henderson’s Facebook contest page to vote for my “Elegant & Simple Nightstand.”  Thanks!

How are your styling skills?  Any easy tricks to share?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

8 thoughts on “Nightstand Styling

  1. Pingback: “How do I paint…?” : Painting Campaign Furniture Tutorial | Decorum DIYer

  2. Voted, and love it! I also have to let you know that RugsUSA is having a 50% off sale for St. Patty’s day! I’ve already purchased my rug (It’s finally in stock, yay!). I have YOU to thank for the great suggestion!

  3. Thanks for your vote! I myself wonder when (if ever) I’ll replace my good ole college staples. It’s just too easy to continue using them!

  4. Looks great! I like all of your versions. However, like Lauren states, most ‘styled’ night stands are not realistic. I always wonder, “How am I supposed to style something with a baby monitor, a glass of water, a tissue box, and and (eerily similar) a clunky, old alarm clock from college?” After all, it is my home and I need my things to work for me to make my life easier. Having the unsightly, un-styled things makes my life more convenient.

    That said, voting now!

    • Thanks for your vote, Christine! I think a styled surface could work by elevating everyday objects but it’s just not in the cards for us right now. I recently came into my room to find that Anak turned a nightstand on it’s side (they’re very light) and was using it as a stool to get onto our bed!

  5. This nightstand is definitely stylin’. I really love the orchid and the framed photo. Now I need you to come over here and style my nightstand. Bobbypins and hair ties scattered everywhere, a bowl of ice cream residue, and a dusty digital alarm clock (yes, still rockin’ the one from college).

    You got my vote on the contest page!

Leave a Reply

