Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Spring is in the Air…and in the Home

11 Comments

bringing spring indoorsChanging seasons outside is a great reason to change up your decor inside—isn’t so much of decorating about bringing the outdoors in?  I’m starting to feel little inklings of spring in the air and have begun adding in and swapping out details here and there to bring the season to life inside our home.simple blooms for spring decorNothing quite says spring like cheerful flowers.  Like my decorating mantra, I like to keep it simple and this concept extends to my floral arrangements.  Group together a handful of one type of bloom for maximum impact—it’s a great (and cheaper!) alternative to purchasing a whole bouquet.
cheerful and bright dish towelsAnother of my go-to’s for seasonal decorating is swapping out the dish towels.  While it was tempting to indulge in some cute bunny towels, these bright chartreuse towels evoke the mood of the season to me (think little blades of grass peeking through snow).  It’s important to stay true to your own design aesthetic even when decorating for a holiday or season so pick items that speak to you personally.cheerful and bright pillowcasesIn the bedroom, I added in some blue quatrefoil pillow cases that I picked up during the holiday season.  Trust me I wasn’t thinking about spring decor in the thick of Christmas shopping but $4 for two pillowcases—I’m all about low cost items for seasonal accents!  Buying out-of-season often helps you get the best deals so always shop with an open mind.

Linked to Thistlewood Farms.

Are you ready for spring?  How does your home transform for the season?

fuschia blue sig

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

11 thoughts on “Spring is in the Air…and in the Home

  1. Amazing pillowcases! And so cheap! Sweet score!!!!!

  2. Hi Jennifer,

    I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a ‘Liebster Award’ on my blog today, if you want to participate. The rules, if there are any really, is that you accept the nomination, answer the questions and nominate some other bloggers, ask them some questions, etc. It’s really more of a way to connect and broaden the blogging community, than anything.

    Also, I LOVE chartreuse green because it really does look like spring.

    Thanks,

    Jenny

    • Thanks so much for the nomination, Jenny! That’s so sweet of you to think of me and my little blog. I’m really touched : ]

      I simply adore chartreuse…all year long! Spring is just a great reason to incorporate even more of it!

  3. I always feel like adding more flowers in my house for spring. I love the pillow cases too! Fabulous find! Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

  4. $4 pillow cases! Thats awesome-I love the pattern :)

  5. I agree, great find with those pillow cases! I love the little touches: plants, flowers, color; that you bring into your home. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I love those new pillowcases..what a gorgeous find and for $4!! Seriously? I love the idea of bringing in some spring touches, thanks for some ideas of some simple and affordable ways of doing so. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

