Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Fling: Corky Details

6 Comments

Thank you: A special thank you to Jenny of sugarshellandbutterknife for nominating Brave New Home for the Liebster Blog Award!

fling  (flng) noun: a short period of unrestrained pursuit of one’s wishes or desires.

Cork is a great sustainable resource.  I particularly love how natural and no-fuss it is.  I recently used a cork board to display my son’s art and it sort of reminded me of how versatile the stuff is.  Super easy to cut and paint on!

(source)

I am seriously smitten with cork desks.  They are just so handsome and unique.  I think I just might have to start saving for one.

(source)

Dark cork is particularly sophisticated (anyone else recognize this image from Domino mag?  Me too!).

(source)

Cork is an obvious choice for kitchen related goods for its absorbancy.

(source)

(source)

Here are my ideas of what I’d do with a roll of cork:

(source)

(source)

cork(source)

(source)

That’s just cork rolled around an empty can!

(source)

Do you use cork in your home?  Have you found any other interesting uses for it?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

6 thoughts on “Fling: Corky Details

  1. Love the coasters and the can wrap! I want to line a couple of my interior kitchen cabinet doors with cork for a place to hide all my reminders and coupons.

  2. Cork is definitely so versatile…and I’m really in love with how it looks when painted with bright colors or white. I have a hankering to try my hand at some cork coasters one of these days. Now I just need to get my hands on a roll of cork! Thanks for the inspiration, Jennifer.

  3. I have some cork place mats from IKEA that I love. Cork is fresh and modern, yet perfectly at home in a MCM house. I would really love to re-do my kitchen floors in cork but I don’t think that’s happening anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

