Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

$50 Office Makeover Challenge

14 Comments

I switched offices at work!  My colleague took another job (sniff, sniff) so I jumped at the chance to upgrade from my storage-room-turned-office setup.  Have you ever noticed you only really ever decorate and clean your office when you first move in?  I have.  So I seized this opportunity to give my new office a mini facelift.office beforeThis is what I’m starting with.  My personal challenge is to spend a maximum of $50 out-of-pocket (not including the cost of paint, that was covered) for the update.   Curious what paint color I picked?  Check out  my Facebook page for a clue ;-]  

So I hopped onto my Office but not THE Office Pinterest board for inspiration.

(source)

The one image that kept jumping out at me was this mood board.   It’s more modern than I would usually go for but I decided to trust my gut and go for it!

I’m thinking about adapting the triangle patterned cloth basket into some sort of wall art.  The triangles are great but I’m thinking of something a bit more global and less modern.  Something along the lines of the walls of this room that I pulled from my Eclectic in Quotation Marks board:

(source)

Check back tomorrow for a reader’s pick on artwork!

What would you spend $50 on to maximize your budget?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

14 thoughts on “$50 Office Makeover Challenge

  1. Pingback: Readers Choice: Pick a Painting | Brave New Home

  2. A LAMP!

    Oh. My. Goodness. I can’t tell you how homey my office looks with my lamp. Many students have complimented my lamp in my office. That and candy. Everyone loves candy.

  3. Great post and I love that you are giving yourself this self-imposed challenge! So much fun. I bet you find your coworkers hanging out in your office more and more, once you make the changes. I know when I worked at the law firm, the one Attorney would always bring his clients into my office (when I had one) because his was so disorganized and undecorated.

    I would spend the $50 on storage and organization, as that is what would make my day-to-day work experience easier and more pleasant. If the money were to be solely for decor (not pragmatic items, possibly covered by the office supply closet), I’d opt for things that would make the office space seem more homey/cozy. Fabric (like for drapes on that great window), plants (you need some life in there, besides you), and artwork that inspires.

    • I bet your office was totally cozy (and organized!).

      I had a feeling you were going to say curtains : ] I’m good on storage and organization (unlike my own home) so I think I’m gonna take your second approach and go with plants and artwork. I’m trying to figure out a way to hang a curtain rod…I think I have about 8 inches of wall to work with there.

      • Well, if there aren’t two walls [I can’t tell from the photo] to allow a tension rod (the kind that actually screws into the wall), perhaps you could hand the curtains from the ceiling. It looks as though you have the standard office drop ceiling. Those cross bars are easy to wrap small wires/hooks around. Having worked in clothing retail, once in my life; I know for certain that there are special hooks used to hang items from drop ceilings (the hooks look like fish to me). Good luck!

  4. Yay for getting to switch to a bigger office!!

  5. I would probably buy a low -cost, but chic, lamp from Target or HomeGoods. I love love love having a lovely lamp on my desk in my office rather than the drab old task lighting that is typically associated with work. The soft lighting helps to battle the awful overhead light!!

Leave a Reply

