Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

A Dose of Thrifty Inspiration

12 Comments

I’ve been doing a good bit of thrift shopping (but no buying) lately.  Come have a look!Rosecrans Thrift ShopI’ve driven by this thrift store a handful of times but never made it a point to stop in.  It was huge!floral porcelain lampThis lamp minus the lampshade (I know, gasp!) has some great potential.  I could see it working with a bright fuchsia lamp shade to pick up on the pink of the flowers.

(source)

This chair was in perfect condition!  It didn’t have a price tag but I bet it would have been a steal—how could it not?  If I had a place for it I would have snagged it for sure.grey chairI think it would be instantly updated with something a bit hip and maybe in mint.  You know how I feel about mint!grey sofa with mint pillow

(source)

Speaking of mint, check this bad boy out.  Yes, I really must not have been in the buying mood to pass up on this piece.mint vaseThis particular thrift store had lots of great art.  It’s good to recon thrift stores to know what they carry so you know exactly where to go when you are on the hunt for something specific.girl with cat portraitThis piece could help ground a gallery wall and give it some history.

(source)

On to another thrift store!  I took my little brother out for his 19th birthday and he actually suggested that we do a little thrift shopping since they were so many great thrift shops in the area.  How could I say no?  It was his birthday after all and he made the suggestion ; ]  We stopped into this thrift store down the street from where we had lunch.Goodwill thrift storeThis wicker stool would have been perfect topped with some seating.  And for just $6, too!wicker standI’m still sorta kicking myself for passing up on this deal.  Even Julianne Moore made it work!

(source)

This mid century ottoman/foot rest was such a great little piece to work with!  It was a bit wobbly but again, it was something to the tune of five bucks so it wouldn’t have been a huge investment.mid century stoolI think it would be fun to update it with a modern print—it’s sort of unexpected.Any pieces that you would have snatched up?  What’s your favorite trick for breathing new life into a dated piece?

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

12 thoughts on “A Dose of Thrifty Inspiration

  1. Ahh, you’ve got so many great items! Occasionally I’ll find some really good things, but usually not awesome furniture. That chair is awesome!!

  2. Wow…you really have such a great eye for design, and I want to take you thrifting with me next time I go so you can help me see the potential in the items I come across. Really loved the wicker stool!

  3. I can’t believe that you DIDN’T buy the mint pillow OR vase! Are you feeling okay? Should we be concerned?!

  4. Ummm…I NEED that gray chair!!! I love it. Like really, really love it. I even know where I’d put it in our new house! See that’s the only bad thing about thrifting…you can’t just go order a piece that you see and like. Oh well, they’re unique that way!

  5. I love your thrifting discoveries and how you found pics showing how to use them. I sooo want to go thrifting. I went 2 weekends ago and got a flower pot for 50cents, needless to say I’m hooked.

  6. Oh my LORD that grey chair!! I would have run out the door with that. I love thrift store posts.

  7. Wow, that took some serious restraint. I don’t know if I could have passed up some of those goodies. Thanks for the tour!

Leave a Reply

