Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Patio Dreaming

16 Comments

Thank You:  Many thanks to Elisa of Fancy Free Me for nominating Brave New Home for its fifth Liebster Award!  If you’re still interested in getting to know me better, feel free to catch up on my past survey answers here and here.

Psst, we’ve been house hunting!  We even put in an offer on a condo in my dream neighborhood (spoiler alert: we didn’t get it but that’s okay by us, it was a little on the higher-than-we’re-comfortable-with side anyways) that had a cute little enclosed patio.  As soon as we put in our offer I did the totally sane and rational thing and started planning how I would decorate this new home that we were destined to own! outdoor patio rightI’m no gardener and would be completely happy with a little piece of enclosed land for Anak to tackle messier projects in (like play dough and all things glitter, wait, that’s me) or to have simply have an outdoor space for us all to lounge .outdoor patio leftThis enclosed patio got me excited because unlike other properties we’ve seen, this one actually has sound earth to play around with!

For my inspiration images, I purposely chose a few from our region; we get lots of intense sun and very little rain.  And since land comes at a premium, yards tend to be on the smaller side. 

(source)

I’m crazy about that outdoor fireplace in this Los Angeles backyard!

(source)

I’m loving the balance of modern and minimal with organic growth in this Hollywood Hills home.

(source)

This Palm Springs home epitomizes weather appropriate landscaping while not screaming desert.

And here’s what I came up with:

small enclosed patio mood boardOf course, I’m all about adding a rug wherever possible!  Since a fire pit would likely be a no-go with most HOAs, I thought these modern fire torches would be a nice way to bring in some warmth without taking up too much space in a small patio.  I would build a low deck for seating and leave the other half (or maybe even two thirds) of the patio a cement slab/grass combo.

For more outdoor space ideas, check out my Outside Spaces/Gardens board.

Linked to Our Fifth House, Liz Marie Blog, Design Your Dwelling (if you feel so inclined, feel free to hop over and “like” my mood board for next week’s featured mood board).

Does your outdoor design philosophy extend from what’s already indoors?  Do your outdoor spaces serve a function or are they mostly decorative?

dark grey jennifer at brave new home signature

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

16 thoughts on “Patio Dreaming

  1. I’m a new follower to your blog! Love your style! Do you every provide a resource list for your mood boards? I might have missed it…so sorry if I did. Thanks!

  2. What a fun collection of inspiration! Our outdoor space has been mostly decorated by my husband as he is the one working out there on the dock and by the fire pit…he actually loves it! But he has done a great job of making our dock a really welcoming space for guests, adding a rug and arranging the furniture in a circle. He also added white lights, which add warmth and whimsy. So, he’s doing pretty good if you ask me! We have an idea to do a joint project where we create a wood pallet sign for the dock with graphics of knots (we have a sailboat)…so that’s next on the docket!

  3. Looks like a beautiful plan. We’re working on our outdoor space this weekend and I can’t wait to take advantage of it once the weather turns warmer (a little rainy right now!).

  4. I checked out some of your past LAs and i have always wanted to buy the cookie butter but haven’t because I have no clue what to put it on! Have you tried it on anything other than a spoon? I’ll never hear the end of it if I bring it home an eat it straight out of the jar!

    • Oh and have fun home shopping! It’s so fun!

    • Hrm, I’ve seen people pair it was fruit like strawberries. The bottle says you can also pair it with cookies which seems a bit much—cookie paste on top of cookies? I can’t find a better way to eat it, anything but eating it straight seems like watering down its goodness. That’s why I bring my jar to work so I can eat it secretly by the spoonful :P

  5. I am definitely trying to have my outdoor design philosophy mirror what’s going on inside, that’s for sure, and we do use our outdoor spaces all the time. In fact, we spend more time outdoors than in during the summer.

    I love your moodboard! The right house is out there waiting for you, I just know it.

    • Your posts about your personal outdoor philosophy really got me thinking! We have really drastic daytime/nighttime temperatures out here so it’s hard to find times during the summer where it’s comfortable being outside. It can easily be 90 degrees during the day and dip into the 50s once the sun sets.

      I’m not too considered about moving—we were doing it more for the economics rather than because we wanted to; I’m fine staying put!

  6. Sorry that you didn’t get it, but there is a better one waiting for you. Great ‘dream’ decorating. I love the patio inspirations and your moodboard. I am headed to Design Your Dwelling now to vote for your moodboard.

  7. Restoration Hardware has some really great gel fueled fire torches, too. You should check them out once you score that outdoor space!

Leave a Reply

