Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

Fling: Fuzzies for Farrow and Ball

8 Comments

fling  (flng) noun: a short period of unrestrained pursuit of one’s wishes or desires.

A fling doesn’t last for years and years so I’m upgrading my feelings towards Farrow and Ball from fling to serious love interest ; ]  Back in ’04 (while still in my college years) I was flipping through the pages of some home design shelter magazine and came across rooms painted with Farrow and Ball paint.  farrow and ball tear bookI quickly tore out the sheets and taped them into my idea book.  I never knew I could feel this way about paint!  It was like discovering truffles after eating mushrooms for a lifetime—it was a whole new level of awesomeness!

Hands down my favorite Farrow and Ball paint colours (they’re a British company after all) are their blue greens.  Pure perfection. 

(source)

I’m also a big fan of their barely there blues.  I think that’s a hard color to get right (I’ve tried and wound up with a baby blue).

(source)

Their black blues are also spot on.

(source)

And their wallpapers are divine! 

(source)

I’m sure you’ve come across their lotus wallpaper in some shape or form.

(source)

One of my blogging friends tipped me off that Farrow and Ball gives away free wallpaper samples along with a few other goodies so of course I took advantage of the opportunity to have a little piece of something I could otherwise probably never afford (one gallon of paints runs for about $100).free farrow and ballinspiration and color guide and wallpaper samplesI got my five free wallpaper samples, a color card, and an inspiration brochure and boy was I one happy camper!  The wallpapers are simply stunning and unlike anything I’ve ever seen before—you can feel and see the painted pattern sitting atop the paper!  They truly are a work of art.

I already have at least one project planned with my wallpaper samples for the bedroom but I’m curious, What would you do with a wallpaper sample?  Would you be willing to dish out $100 to try this paint?

dark grey jennifer at brave new home signature

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

8 thoughts on “Fling: Fuzzies for Farrow and Ball

  1. Pingback: DIY Wallpapered Lamp Shades | Brave New Home

  2. We’re splurging on paint at the moment – Downpipe and Railings on cupboard doors and Cornforth White on the walls. And we’ve totally splurged on Lotus wallpaper for the chimney breast – watch this space to see how it turns out!!

    Meanwhile, I keep ordering paper samples too and now have quite a stash of them but no idea what to do with them. Am happy to post them if anyone can make use?!

  3. Love Farrow & Ball wallpaper samples! I still have some from last fall that I’ve been saving to use with some homemade idea books. One of many projects on my to do list.

    (And I agree that the paint colors are gorgeous. Something worth a splurge for the right space!)

  4. The depth of FB’s colors is just amazing. I love their inky blue/black. I’m quite curious as to what you will be doing with your samples…I’m drawing a blank on any ideas.

  5. Those are beautiful Jen! I don’t think I would pay $100 to get the samples, but I know I could find lots of things to do with them if they are free. :) They would make beautiful cards!

Leave a Reply

