Brave New Home

creating authenticity where it matters most

DIY Bath Foam Paints

5 Comments

DIY Bath Foam PaintsI like to do special little things with my son to celebrate the end of the work/school week—life is about the little things, right?  His internal clock shifted (read, he’s going to bed about a full two hours later each night consistently—talk about an adjustment!) so we’ve been having more time to enjoy each evening.materials for DIY bath foam paintsI had given this a try before when he was a bit younger but Anak was largely uninterested.  Since I had all the materials on hand, I decided to give it another go.  All you need is a muffin tin, shaving cream, food coloring, and a brush.shaving cream with food coloringJust put some shaving cream and 5-8 drops of food coloring.stirring up shaving cream with food coloringThen mix it up with something non-pourous that won’t stain, like a plastic chop stick!still stirring up shaving cream with food coloringStir it up…
finished colored bath foam paintsTa da!  Yeah, I really did show ya’ll how to mix shaving cream with food coloring :P  I know it’s not rocket science but after mixing all our foam bath paints, I realized I didn’t make Anak’s favorite color—pink!  So I used the opportunity to snap a few more pics.painting on the shower door with bath foam paintsHere’s one of his creations.  I had envisioned us making shapes and pictures for minutes and minutes (which for a toddler is like saying hours and hours) like we usually do in the fog of the glass door but like most projects with kids go, his interest wasn’t in the purpose of the project.foam bath paints sprinkled with waterHe was much more fascinated in the way water drops removed the color from the shaving cream.pouring water on foam paintsAnd how the foamy paint floated when you poured water into it.

My tips for you and your kiddos if you attempt to make your own bath paint foam paints are to:

– Do a test patch to make sure the bath foam paints don’t stain whatever surface you’re painting on.  They shouldn’t stain the bathtub but we all know how the color red doesn’t like to play by the rules…

– Don’t actually let your kids paint while they’re taking a bath.  Little eyes are sensitive and the last thing you’d want is to get shaving cream into the water.

– Make sure you don’t have any portrait sessions coming up!  The stain on the skin from the  purple foam bath paint looked a lot like a bruise.

Linked to Lines Across, Alderberry Hill, City Farmhouse, The Gunny Sack, Home Stories A to Z, It’s Overflowing, Gingersnap Crafts, The Shabby Creek Cottage, House of Hepworths.

Have you ever tried making bath foam paint?  Do you have any other favorite bath time activities to share?

dark grey jennifer at brave new home signature

Author: Jennifer @ Brave New Home

Hi! I'm Jennifer from Brave New Home (www.bravenewhome.com). I blog about overcoming fear and transforming a house into a home one DIY project at a time.

5 thoughts on “DIY Bath Foam Paints

  1. Oh my gosh! What a cute idea! That looks like so much fun…I want to play!

  2. This is so on my summer craft list. I’m already hearing “Mom I’m bored”. ARGH!

  3. This looks like a fun activity. I don’t think my daughter would quite “get it” yet but I’m pinning for later :)

Leave a comment